Address Arecibo Observatory PR-625, Arecibo, 00612, Puerto Rico

Commissioned in 1963, the Arecibo Observatory closed on December 1, 2020 after a succession of damages that caused the destruction of the structure.

Since its creation, the Arecibo Observatory was used to collect radio astronomical, terrestrial aeronomy and planetary radar data for world scientists.

In order to use it, it was mandatory to apply to an independent committee. Thus, the resources were used wisely.

With a diameter of 305 meters, the main antenna was, until 2016, in first place in the ranking of the largest structures of this type in the world, before being overtaken by the FAST located in China.

Several discoveries are linked to the radio telescope. In 1964, Gordon Pettengill’s team proved that Mercury’s rotation period is 59 days instead of 88 as previously thought. In 1974, the radio telescope discovered PSR B1913+16, the first binary pulsar, thus testing general relativity. In 1992, water ice was detected at the poles of the planet Mercury.

Another funny detail, in 1974, a message was sent from the radio telescope. It contains 1,679 bits of data to the globular cluster M13, which is about 25,000 light years away. The data is a bitmap image of 23 pixels by 73 pixels including numbers, chemical formulas and raw images of a man and the telescope itself.

Fall and end. In August 2020, a cable snapped, causing a gash in the telescope’s reflector. In November, another cable snapped, causing further damage and more cables to fall. The radio telescope is put out of service, any attempt to repair it being much too dangerous. On December 1, the radio telescope collapsed completely, marking the end of a giant in astronomy.

The Fantrippers Buying Board

James Bond Blu-Ray Full Box

Full James Bond box set

Find in this James Bond event box set the 24 films of the saga!
– Dr No (1962)
– From Russia with Love (1963)
– Goldfinger (1964)
– Thunderball (1965)
– You Only Live Twice (1967)
– On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (1969)
– Diamonds Are Forever (1971)
– Live and Let Die (1973)
– The Man with the Golden Gun (1974)
– The Spy Who Loved Me (1976)
– Moonraker (1979)
– For Your Eyes Only (1981)
– Octopussy (1983)
– A View to a Kill (1985)
– The Living Daylights (1987)
– Licence to Kill (1989)
– GoldenEye (1995)
– Tomorrow Never Dies (1997)
– The World Is Not Enough (1999)
– Die Another Day (2002)
– Casino Royale (2006)
– Quantum of Solace (2008)
– Skyfall (2012)
– Spectre (2015)

Fantrippers' opinion
Content quality

Interest for fans

Value for money